why i hate “fair enough”

Standard

hey anderson!

are you ready to hear another pet peeve of mine? you know i am a really big fan of grammar and being articulate, and this is just another thing to add to my list of things that make me cringe.

i hate when people say “fair enough”.

seriously, wtf does that even mean? i really don’t know, but more and more people are saying it. here are a couple examples i’ve witnessed lately:

dude @ work: i’ve just finished reading the report

other dude @ work: fair enough

supermarket cashier: how’s your day going?

me: good so far, thanks!

cashier: fair enough

friend: what’s new?

me: not a whole lot, i’ve been really busy with work

friend: fair enough

now tell me, what was the purpose of saying fair enough in any of those situations?? they may as well have just said “i don’t care, anything you say will elicit the same response from me”. i may concede that in the last situation, the “fair enough” response was somewhat understandable. but way to kill the conversation!

i just don’t understand why expressions take over to such an extent. words lose their meaning when used in such a knee-jerk way. i know that i do the same thing, and we all have our go to expressions. but usually those are personal, like when asked how i am i often say “not too bad”, especially when asked at work. i like that response, and i stick to it because it is honest. i am rarely great or awesome, so why would i say that?? but when people speak to me, i don’t feel the need to offer a judgement on what they have said. and when you think about it, “fair enough” is a judgement statement. it means that you are giving me approval for what i did and said. thanks, but i don’t need that!

so please, don’t fall back on over used expressions. it’s the least you can do for the person you’re speaking with.

ttfn,
~k

9 responses »

  1. Haha! This is so true. Happens all the time, when someone is very excited about expressing something, rather than falling back on them you should enjoy it. 🙂 I agree with you. You have a very strong and fun blog. Love your writing.
    I stopped by your blog from odetoinspiration.
    p.s: I have a Ramadan and Eid party supplies giveaway going on right now. Check it out just in case you are interested. http://www.craftionary.net/2012/07/lantern-court-ramadan-and-eid-giveaway.html
    Have a nice day!

    • thanks so much for reading my blog and commenting!! i really appreciate it and your compliments 🙂
      i’m totally going to enter your contest, i know some people who would love that stuff!!
      enjoy your day,
      ~k

  2. I agree with you! My latest language pet peeve is saying “seen” instead of “saw”. I cannot believe how many people do it now!

  3. Hi buddy,

    Before you make a post about grammar you should really make sure your post is grammatically correct.

    Much love,

    A random person on the Internet.

  4. I find “fair enough” somewhat rude and arrogant. The reply indicates the person is keeping score based on the past and I should be firstly concerned with rising to their sense of fairness whatever that is.

Leave me a note!

